The fault in our stars(2014)

fault-our-stars-movie-poster

I haven’t written in a while, because there have been personal issues that I thought I couldn’t handle.And then one day I watched this film.I feel bad that I cant express the feelings that I went through, no not in any words, but to tell you, I haven’t cried like this in a while.I cried like a baby.This film is so beautiful, yet painful at the same time.And I was pretty sure that the only way I can get rid of the pain is to write about it.So here I’m writing about it.And you wouldn’t believe me if I say that ‘m crying right now.Because I am.Tears are rolling down my cheeks.No ‘m not embarrassed, because not every film can give you a pain like this.Its a beautiful feeling.A feeling beyond any words!!

This film is an adaptation of the book of the same name by John Green.I haven’t read the book, but now I wish to.Directed by Josh Boone, this romantic drama stars Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort in the leads.Hazel Grace Lancaster(Woodley)  is a teenager dealing with the stage four Thyroid Cancer, that has already gotten into her lungs.She has to always carry this oxygen tank with her, with tubes around her nose, because she can’t breathe unless.She spends time reading books, watching reality shows and she has no friends at all..Hazels mother insists that she should attend the cancer patients’ support group, to make some friends.And that’s  where she meets the vibrant Augustus Waters.Augustus lost one of his legs to osteosarcoma.And they  two become very close indeed.The kind of closeness that I wish I could be with someone.A relationship without any lies or lust.A relationship so pure that I think it cease to exist in the real world!!And that thought is killing me.Its eating me up from the inside.I wish I could be Augustus because I love Hazel Grace and I want to be loved by her!!..

Excuse me if ‘m getting too emotional.I cant help it.So about the film again,it shows us how fragile we are.That we have no control over our lives.The film is not about cancer or its survival.Its about love and about the realization, that  to get loved deeply is  much much  important and beautiful than to get loved widely.Augustus has this fear of oblivion.He wants to be famous and is so desperate to leave a mark on his own before he dies.But Shailene, as Augustus says, knows the truth.She wants to get loved deeply by someone.She is so intelligent and brave.And she’s so adorable.This film though as presented as a narration by Hazel Grace, is about her.Her thoughts.Her emotions.Her love for Augustus.

Take a bow for Shailene Woodley.What an amazing performance by this beautiful actor.One of the best performances ever!!She’ll be remembered forever as Hazel Grace.I love her.Ansel Elgort is also remarkable as Augustus Waters.And everyone in the film leave a mark on their own.Nat Wolff as Isaac,Willem Dafoe as Peter van Houten,Laura Dern as Hazel’s mom and Sam Trammel as her father are other important characters in the film.

Please don’t miss this one.Its a request.

My Rating :9/10

Leave a Reply

